What Makes A Classic?

Is there a formula to writing a classic? I don’t think so. But I did think there was a specific definition of the term “Classic” when it comes to literature; until now. I took the liberty of interviewing a group of people, different age groups of course, and asked them all the same question.

“What do you define as “Classic”? Is the term relative or is there a universal understanding? What is YOUR favorite classic?”

Of all the people I asked, I got three types of responses. The first type was the well educated individual that genuinely enjoyed the book, the people who have read the book multiple times, and the people who don’t spend a lot of time reading. or read…at all….

So the first type is the individual that has ACTUALLY READ THE BOOK

tumblr_lltzgnHi5F1qzib3wo1_400

The second type that usually consists of Professors, book addicts and the like…

 re-reading-books-meme

And the third type…. the GASTON’S!!! FOR SHAME!

gaston

Now I can understand that some people have reading disabilities or don’t have the time or the space but there are e-books and audio books. Your brain will never ever ever run out of space and you’ll be better for it. Now, here are the responses I got in alphabetical order. Simply because I don’t want to divide them into these groups so definitely based on this question without further explanation of their answers.

Caleb: Age 21: “Classics is totally relative. You and I have different taste in movies and considered different types classics, but really they both are. Totally relative. I don’t know what my favorite would be.”

John: Age 56: “I don’t think it’s relative-in fact I think classic is virtually the opposite: greatness is recognized not only by nearly everyone, but by nearly everyone over multiple generations. It’s hard not to choose something from the greatest English author, Shakespeare, or even Dickens, but as for my favorite I’m going for “Pride & Prejudice”.”

Lynn: Age 59: “”The Centaur” is my favorite. Trudging on is something we must all endure at certain life passages which makes it a classic in my book.”

Makayla: Age 23: “I don’t have an opinion on this. I do like “To Kill A Mockingbird” classic book wise though.”

Nathaniel: Age 24: “When I think “Classic” i think language from antiquity, British literature, or American classics like Twain.”

Nick: Age 20: “”Beowulf.” That’s the only book I’ve really read through all the way. I’ve never really read books.”

Professor Fluker: Age 50: “To Kill A Mockingbird” What makes a book classic is timelessness. Being able to read over the generations

       After recording these responses I decided to look up the definition of the term Classic. I also took the liberty of investigating the many definitions of the term Classical. Of course, the word classical doesn’t always refer to a musical genre, and actually goes back to Rome and Greece, the Mother Loads of art and culture.

Some of the most classic literature of all time can be found with a Google search nowadays. It should be common knowledge but alas. Here’s a list of some of the most classic books of all time, so far.

100 Classics

What is your favorite classic? What is considered “classic” to you? Leave it in the comments below!

image

About alc225

My Twitter is AmesCash
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

