How Not To Give Up

It’s day 10 of November, I’m sitting in my favorite lecture class typing this, Oopsie, and I just read the NaNoWriMo pep talk for today. She starts out with talking about how she had re-written the pep talk many times before she felt secure will publishing it for thousands of hopeful writers to see. She talked about the two types of writers you typically see in November, Planners and Pantsers. I am a confirmed pantser even though I try to be a planner. Planners are pretty easy to figure out the definition to, they plan out every detail of the novel so when November comes they can just spew out all the words. Pantsers just go with an idea, fragments of a plan and let their story flow. Personally, I had a novel in my head for years, tried to write it in 2010.

part of a plan

and it just was a freaking mess because I tried to plan but I didn’t do it enough and I got bored. So I found out that Pansting my novel, letting my characters speak from inside the story, has worked wonders on my writing skills. Its great. What could be considered my “writing career” has been a bunch of poetry and short stories about fairies trees and flowers. ( The good old days when you just need a line on each page and an illustration. ) But now I’ve advanced past Haikus and tried writing big ol’ novels.

But back to the talks we get during NaNoWriMo. Each of the pep-talk writers use their own personal experiences to inspire others, and I got my daily dose of inspiration to remember….not to edit. No no.

nano 2I try so hard NOT TO EDIT. Editing is a big no no in November. I will edit my novel to bits over Christmas break and beyond but for now its about the words. My characters could be speaking in a 4th form of English with a 3rd layer of 20th century gooble-gosh to sort through but as long as I get it down now and know what I am saying, I can fix it later. I always forget that. But as of tomorrow I will be able to spend my three day weekends writing with a little bit of incentive. Legal incentive mind you.

martinis - Copy chug wine - Copy i need scotch - Copy

That’s right, tomorrow is my 21st birthday. Having it be in the middle of the week, and only having online classes, I can write my book in the DMV with an overweight stressful smile on my face. Just like when I first got here. My ankle got over being sprained finally but on its own, I didn’t get a brace like I should have so it is still weak. That means I was out of the gym for weeks and the pounds have piled on from my sick hibernation state.

But no more! Sick or No! NaNoWriMo or No! I will take my laptop and write on the treadmill! ( I have and I’ll do it again ) anything to boost that word count. Not where you write the words or how you write the words or what “research” appears in your history on the bus, cafes or weird public places. For me its a combination of Circus terms, creepy circus music ( because regular circus music is too annoying after 15 hours strait ) herbs and their healing or poisoning powers, the good and evils of witch craft herbs for my villain who spontaneously gets inspired to kill some people.

good bitch or bad bitch

(Go figure.) The list goes on.

What really needs to happen is plot and filler. I’d really like to make it to 30,000 in the next 2 days but I doubt that will happen because of this paper and my overwhelming desire to sleep. But I’m sure that my characters and my plot will come through in their own funny little ways like they always do. As I said in a post earlier, I think it was the 1st or 2nd of the month, that this idea sprung up on me and I was not going to even do NANOWRIMO this year. But I liked this idea too much to let it slide.

Good luck to all you other NaNos! Don’t let anything get you down! Stay inspired! It’s only day 10!
“Novels aren’t written by muses who come down through the ceiling and shoot magic through your fingers and out onto your laptop’s keyboard… They’re written with one simple equation:
Time + Work = Novel.”
— Stephanie Perkins.

About alc225

My Twitter is AmesCash
This entry was posted in Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

